Breyana's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Recently Read: Academy X by Andrew Trees

I found this amazing website which sells deeeply discounted books and hundreds for two dollars, thats right 2 freaking dollars.  Talk about a steal. I bought seven books and with shipping it came to under twenty dollars. EDIT: I just checked out the website, and I guess it was just a promotional thing because now they have something different.  Either way they still have books for a great price!

Anyway, I just finished reading (like ten mins ago) Academy X.   The overview reads:

Welcome to Academy X, an ethical wonderland in which up is down, right is wrong, and parents and students will stop at nothing to get into the Ivy League. English teacher John Spencer is struggling through the final weeks of spring semester. But keeping his students focused on the genius and wit of Jane Austen is the least of his problems. His crush on the sexy librarian is beginning to warp his judgement. An unexpected promotion leaves him drowning in a sea of academic intrigue. Pushy parents demanding higher grades lurk behind every corner, and a favorite pupil suddenly reveals a cunning and sophistication far beyond her years. With each bumbling effort to keep everyone happy, John digs himself deeper into trouble, until his very career is at stake. Witty and rollicking, Academy X is a priceless peek into New York City’s top private schools – indeed into elite schools all over the country – where parents risk all for their child’s coveted admission to Harvard, Yale, or Princeton.

I was excited to read this book because it reminded me of this show that was on Bravo TV about rich high school kids in NYC who epitomize everything described.  However, once I began reading it was a bit of a different story.   When reading the summary I thought it was  a true story, but once I began reading it sounded fiction which disappointed me.  This book started off pretty slow to me as well.  Sort of repetitive, too many mentions about Jane Austin, and it seemed lit it was not going where.  When I got a little over half-way through the plot  slowly started to thicken.  In the end, I found out this was a true story and the author, Andrew Trees, really does (or did) teach at the unmentioned private school which made me like the book a bit more.  The overall ending was decent.  For some reason the plot had not captivated me like most books do, or like I had hoped it would.  I love the “beach read” types of books, however, I think an elementary student could have read this book which was also a bit unappealing as well.  I would not reccomend buying this book, but at the price of $2  it was still worth it for me.

No comments yet»

Leave a Reply

